A Noble Entertainment: Music from Queen Anne's London

Avie AV2094

The Parnassian Ensemble's debut CD was released on 28th August 2006.  It features music by many of the composers living and working in London during the reign of Queen Anne (1702 - 1714) and includes many world premiere recordings.  


  • William Williams: Trio Sonata No. 6 in F major 'in immitation of Birds'
  • Daniel Purcell: Trio Sonata No. 2 in G minor
  • William Corbett: Trio Sonata in C major Op. 2, No. 4
  • Nicola Francesco Haym: Sonata in A minor / E minor for 'cello and basso continuo
  • James Paisible: Suite No. 4 in C minor
  • Johann Christoph Pepusch: Trio Sonata in F major
  • Henry Purcell: Suite No. 2 in G minor for solo harpsichord (Z661)
  • Gottfried Keller: Trio Sonata No. 4 in B flat major
  • Gottfried Finger: Trio Sonata in G minor
  • James Paisible: Sonata in C minor Op.1, No. 3 for two treble recorders
  • George Frideric Handel: Trio Sonata in F major HWV405

The cellist on this recording is erstwhile member of the group, Joseph Crouch.

Sample tracks:


To purchase a copy please visit the Avie website by clicking on the Avie logo.



We recorded our CD at the National Centre for Early Music in York.  You can learn more about this wonderful place here.